Ffa Essay Contest

Wisconsin Ag News Headlines
Culver's Essay Contest to Benefit FFA Students, Chapters
Wisconsin Ag Connection - 02/20/2018

Culver's is holding its fourth annual FFA Essay Contest this year. The Wisconsin-based restaurant chain says FFA members are being encouraged to write an essay for a chance to earn their local chapters money for leadership training and special events.

Contest organizers say the top three essay writers will receive $7,500, $2,500 and $2,500, respectively, to help their chapters cover the cost of attending educational conferences.

"FFA members are our future, and we want to do our part in supporting them and their education," said Jessie Kreke, senior marketing manager for Culver's. "This contest is always such a great way for us to connect with them on an individual level to hear what they're passionate about, and what they hope to accomplish in their careers."

Students interested in entering the competition can visit http://www.culvers.com/essaycontest to submit an essay of 1,000 words or less on what they want people to know about the National FFA theme, which is 'I can. We will.'

The contest is part of Culver's 'Thank You Farmers' program which recognizes how vital agriculture is to Culver's success, while providing financial support to young people who want to make a career in agriculture.

Essays are due by April 6.

Send this article to a friend

The winners of the 2018 Growmark Essay Contest have been announced. The state winners of the contest for FFA members:

  • Ross Tompkins of Smithboro, Illinois. Tompkins is a student at Mulberry Grove High School and a member of the Mulberry Grove FFA chapter. His FFA advisor is Matt Elam.
  • Anna Campbell of Hamlin, Iowa. Campbell is a student at Audubon High School and a member of the Audubon FFA chapter. Her FFA advisor is Brittany Elmquist. 
  • Chloe Momphard of Troy, Missouri. Momphard is a student at Troy Buchanan High School and a member of the Troy FFA chapter. Her FFA advisor is Rob Calvin.
  • Audrey Pelikan of Jefferson, Wisconsin. Pelikan is a student at Jefferson High School and a member of the Jefferson FFA chapter. Her FFA advisor is Gary Olson. 

The theme of this year’s contest was “How can cooperatives demonstrate their value to the next generation of agriculturists?”

Each state’s contest winner receives a $500 award from Growmark at their state FFA convention. The winner’s FFA chapter also receives a $300 award in honor of their accomplishment.

Four runners-up in each state receive a $125 award. The runners-up and their FFA chapters:

  • Brynn Bergen, Mercer County FFA, Seaton, Illinois;
  • Mackenzie Brackett, LeRoy FFA, LeRoy, Illinois;
  • Connor Sullivan, West Prairie FFA, Colchester, Illinois; and
  • Sean Welch, ROWVA FFA, Knoxville, Illinois.
  • Kanyon Huntington, East Union FFA, Afton, Iowa;
  • Austin Miller, North Linn FFA, Walker, Iowa;
  • Rease Morris, Collins-Maxwell FFA, Maxwell, Iowa; and
  • Rebecca Wilson, Lone Tree FFA, Conesville, Iowa.
  • Karli Amos, Monroe City FFA, Monroe City, Missouri;
  • Cole Hammett, Ashland FFA, Ashland, Missouri;
  • Alyssa Kothe, Salisbury FFA, Salisbury, Missouri; and
  • Grace Owen, Norborne FFA, Norborne, Missouri.
  • Kendra Gillett, Beaver Dam FFA, Fall River, Wisconsin;
  • Peter Gorman, New London FFA, Manawa, Wisconsin;
  • Trevor Messmer, Lake Mills FFA, Lake Mills, Wisconsin; and
  • Madison Russell, Shullsburg FFA, Shullsburg, Wisconsin.

This is the 25th year for the program, sponsored by the Growmark System and FS member cooperatives, in conjunction with state FFA leaders, to help young people develop their writing skills, learn about current issues in agriculture, and understand the unique role of cooperatives. 

Source: Growmark

TAGS: Business

0 thoughts on “Ffa Essay Contest”


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *